Public Document Pack



NOTICE OF THE JOINT SCRUTINY COMMITTEE DECISIONS FROM THE MEETING HELD ON 23RD JANUARY 2024 AT 5.00PM

CAERPHILLY COUNTY BOROUGH COUNCIL

NOTICE OF THE DECISIONS FROM THE JOINT SCRUTINY COMMITTEE MEETING HELD ON TUESDAY 23RD JANUARY 2024 AT 5.00 P.M.

PRESENT:

Councillor G. Johnston - Chair

Councillors: M. Adams, E. M. Aldworth, A. Angel, C. Bishop, A. Broughton-Pettit, M. Chacon-Dawson, D. Cushing, C. Cuss, D.T. Davies, E. Davies, G. Ead, C. Elsbury, G. Enright, K. Etheridge, M. Evans, A. Farina-Childs, C. Forehead, J. Fussell, A. Gair, D. Harse, T. Heron, A. Hussey, D. Ingram-Jones, M. James, L. Jeremiah, J. Jones, S. Kent, A. Leonard, C. Mann, A. McConnell, B. Miles, B. Owen, T. Parry, L. Phipps, M. Powell, H. Pritchard, J.A. Pritchard, J. Rao, R. Saralis, J. Simmonds, C. Thomas, L. Whittle, S. Williams, W. Williams, J. Winslade, K. Woodland, and C. Wright.

Cabinet Members in attendance: S. Morgan (Leader of Council), C. Andrews (Education and Communities), S. Cook (Housing), E. Forehead (Social Care), N. George (Corporate Services, Property and Highways), P. Leonard (Planning and Public Protection), C. Morgan (Waste, Leisure and Green Spaces), J. Pritchard (Prosperity, Regeneration and Climate Change) and E. Stenner (Finance and Performance).

Officers: D. Street (Deputy Chief Executive), M. S. Williams (Corporate Director Economy and Environment), R. Edmunds (Corporate Director for Education and Corporate Services), S. Harris (Head of Financial Services and S151 Officer), S. Richards (Head of Education Planning and Strategy), K. Peters (Corporate Policy manager), A. Southcombe (Finance Manager – Corporate Finance), R. Tranter (Head of Legal Services and Monitoring Officer), J. Southcombe (Finance Manager), L. Sykes (Deputy Head of Financial Services and S151 Officer), R. Hartshorn (Head of Public Protection, Community and Leisure Services), H. Lancaster (Transformation Manager – Engagement), M. Lloyd (Head of Infrastructure), G. Jenkins (Interim Director of Social Services), K. Cole (Chief Education Officer), J. Williams (Assistant Director Adult Services), L. Lucas (Head of Customer and Digital Services), R. Kyte (Head of Regeneration and Planning), M. Jacques (Scrutiny Officer), S. Hughes (Committee Services Officer) and J. Lloyd (Committee Services Officer).

ITEM	SUBJECT	DECISION	VOTE
1.	To receive apologies for absence.	Apologies for absence were received from Councillors R. Chapman, P. Cook, N. Dix, C. Gordon, D. Preece, D. Price, J. Reed, J. Roberts, J. Scriven, S. Skivens, J. Taylor, and A. Whitcombe.	N/A
2.	Declarations of interest.	There were no declarations of interest received.	N/A
3.	Update on Reserves	Members of the Joint Scrutiny Committee noted the content of the report, and it was moved and seconded that the recommendations contained in the Officer's report be approved. By way of Microsoft Forms and verbal confirmation this was agreed by the majority present RECOMMENDED to Cabinet: Page 1	43 For 1 Against 8 Abstentions

The decisions and declarations of interest are set out below. For further details please refer to the relevant report.

ITEM	SUBJECT	DECISION	VOTE
		 Release the following uncommitted reserves to the General Fund to support the 2024/25 Budget: - a. £1.419m from Capital Earmarked Reserves b. £3.769m from Other Earmarked Service Reserves c. £0.017m from Over/Under Reserves d. £2m from the Insurance Reserve. Transfer 100% of the Net 2023/24 underspend position, forecast at £3.656m as at October 2023 to the General Fund to support the 2024/25 revenue budget. Allocate £0.791m from the Education Over/Underspend Reserve to a specific Earmarked Reserve for the 2023/24 Schools Additional Teachers Pay Award. Repurpose £0.108m from Private Sector Housing Staff Capacity Reserve to Empty Homes Teams Reserve to increase funding so that the team can be extended for two years. 	
4.	Draft Budget Proposals for 2024/25	The Joint Scrutiny Committee considered and commented upon the content of the report prior to Final Budget Proposals being presented to Cabinet and Council on 27 February 2024.	No vote required.

Circulation:

Published Electronically by 5.00pm on Thursday 1st February 2024.